Why So Serious?

Seriously though. Why? At the beginning of class I look around and it seems like half the people looked like the dudes lining up that early morning at the Military Entrance Processing Station. That same stoic look, like we knew what we signed up for, but had no clue what we were in for. But this is Jiu-Jitsu. We’re on the mat wearing murder pajamas, or looking like we’re vacuum sealed and ready for oil wrestling. So I ask again, why so serious?

And this is coming from someone who is very often serious. Recently, an acquaintance met a family member of mine, and said to them, “oh, he’s the very serious one.” I’ve been described as the “scary looking guy” when working in security. I may not be outgoing, but I’m actually quite friendly once I’ve decided you’re a human worth my time. Anyways.

Why so serious on the mat? We aren’t lining up to enter the colosseum, we aren’t marching onto a battlefield where we’ll face life or death. We’re at a class. For most, it’s a hobby, for some it’s a lifestyle. But it’s something we are paying to do. So, why so serious?

And I just mentioned maybe one reason. There’s a monetary value assigned to this hobby or lifestyle. We give away our hard earned cash to train Jiu-Jitsu, so there is some level of seriousness needed. I don’t want to waste my money. If I wanted to waste my money or time, I’d join a cross fit gym or go to LA Fitness. But since I value my time and my money, I choose to go to Jiu-Jitsu. So yes, in that aspect, I am very serious. When it comes to the learning and drilling new techniques, I don’t want to screw around and waste time. I don’t chat unless it’s necessary. Do the move, give/get feedback if applicable, do the move again. The moments before and after class are the times to build and grow the relationships.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not an emotionless shell droning through the moves. Even in the seriousness of learning and drilling, I’m having a good time. There’s the little remarks, funny noises, awkward positions and just downright funny situations that happen that warrant laughter. It’s proof that we’re having a good time. To me, it’s proof that we’re learning.

Even when it comes to sparring and rolls. Why so serious? Is there money on the line? A title? Fame? Fortune? I’d be willing to bet 99% of your rolls don’t have much effect on whether or not you’re getting another piece of tape or different color strip of cloth. So why so serious? My most memorable, and favorite rolls have been the ones filled with laughter. Filled with friendly smack talk. The ones that end with smiles and hugs opposed to high-fives and walk offs.

I know there’s a time and place for a game face. Training for a tournament maybe? During a competition, maybe? I honestly felt like I took my first competition way to seriously (and honestly, I didn’t in comparison to others), and I did not enjoy it. But if you’re really pining for a shiny medal, go for it. I don’t care. I don’t need another chunk of memorabilia to throw in my shoe box of crap I don’t care to display.

I guess the bottom line is if I can’t have fun doing it, why bother? Groucho Marx once said, “If you’re not having fun, you’re doing something wrong.” I think some of you are doing Jiu-Jitsu wrong.

Thanks for reading.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started