Where I [still] Stand on Competing

It’s been well over a year since I entered and competed in my first Jiu-Jitsu tournament. Every now and then, a tournament will pop up within a few hours of us, and the competition talk will pick up around the gym. Coaches encouraging the students to get out here and compete. And I have no problem with that. A lot of people should get out there and give it a go. Some of my close peers sign up for competitions every chance they get.

Someone asked me if I was signing up for one that is coming up in a month or so. I responded simply with a, “Yeah, I don’t think so.”

Usually, conversations just stop there. I’m sure a coach would try to press the issue more, but I’m certain that my stubbornness will prevail. The bottom line is that I did not enjoy competing.

And I know people in the circles I’m in would say things like, “you gotta do things that are uncomfortable to grow,” or something of the sort. And I agree. But it’s not the same for me and the competition scene. Thinking back on the competition, I don’t recall being overly nervous. I know for a fact I had been more nervous in other situations than I was leading up to the moments I stepped onto the mat. Even as the match started, my nerves were relatively calm. I didn’t get anxious the night before. I don’t even recall dealing with an adrenaline dump. Stepping onto the mat for the competition match felt much like starting any other roll with someone I’ve never rolled before. Afterwards, I remember feeling a bit more winded than normal, but despite my feelings about competing, I still gave it my all during that match.

It’s just that I didn’t enjoy competing, and it’s not something I’m going to do “just to get uncomfortable.” I know that I would not enjoy a “plant-based meat product” so you won’t catch me eating an “impossible burger” to push my comfort levels. I don’t enjoy drinking gin, so I don’t drink dry martinis to make myself uncomfortable. I don’t enjoy being in large crowds, you will never catch me driving 4 hours to place myself in a giant arena full of drunk people to watch a concert- even if I like the band. Likewise, I’m not going to pay registration fees, membership fees, and drive multiple hours to do something that I don’t enjoy. Listen, I got to do plenty of things I didn’t enjoy doing while I was in the military, no need to keep that pattern going.

I was talking about a similar topic with my wife not long ago. We had decided to take a break from a church small group we were attending. There was a couple that recently joined the group that we just didn’t enjoy being around. The nights the group met was also a night that we could see our family, so it all just worked out that for a bit we would take a break. She asked what I would say if so-and-so asked me why we quit the group. I said my answer would likely sound something like, “I’ve reached the point in my life where if there are certain people I don’t enjoy being around, I just won’t be around them.”

And I’ve been really applying that principle to more and more of my life. If I don’t have to be around people I don’t enjoy being around, then I won’t. If I don’t have to be doing something I don’t enjoy doing, then I won’t do it.

So, I think it’s even more ridiculous for me to take something I really love and enjoy doing and then applying it to something I really did not enjoy doing.

And don’t get me wrong. There are some charity competition organizations I’ve seen out there, and if one were to make their way close enough that it wasn’t a complete hassle, and it was a charity I had a heart for, then I would consider competing again. But until those stars align, I’m not holding my breath.

And like I said a little over a year ago. I’m ok with any “consequences” of not competing. If it means it’ll slow down my progress through the Jiu-Jitsu ranks, then so be it. I’m not doing Jiu-Jitsu for rank or any recognition. I mean, I totally nerd out and have charts and graphs to show the data of how long I’ve been doing Jiu-Jitsu, how much time I’ve spent, time between stripe and belts and what not. But I’m perfectly fine with those numbers being a little higher than someone who frequently competes.

And again, I will be there for my teammates who do compete. I’ll happily train and spar and work with them. If things worked out in such a way, I’d make the trip to attend the competition with them. I enjoy watching people roll almost as much as I enjoy rolling, so why not?

Anyways, that’s where I [still] stand on competing.

Thanks for reading.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started